Menu principal


Sounding new: works of the collection

8 march - 7 july 2019

Opening Thursday 7th March 2019

Rainforest de David Tudor
David Tudor & Composers Inside Electronics, Rainforest V (Variation 2), 2015. Photo : Blaise Adilon

In the spring of 2019, the Musée d’art contemporain de Lyon will present an exhibition of works from its collection devoted to sound experimentation from the 1960s through to the 1990s.

The recent acquisition of Rainforest V (Variation 4), 1973-2017 by David Tudor and Composers Inside Electronics, comprises the heart of this exhibition and allows the public to discover sound, visual, digital and performative works from the collection of the macLYON in relation to experimental music.

The macLYON takes visitors on a journey to the worlds of seventeen artists who have experimented and produced new forms of art by decompartmentalizing its disciplines: music, visual and digital arts, theatre, dance and poetry, breaking away from the artistic and cultural conventions of their time. This show invites us to look, listen, read and experience the experimental works by these artists who have influenced the history of music and contemporary art through their audacity and creativity.

Featuring the works of: Laurie Anderson, George Brecht, Philip Corner, Molly Davies, Morton Feldman, Anna Halprin, Joe Jones, Allan Kaprow, Alvin Lucier, George Maciunas, Peter Moore, Nam June Paik, Terry Riley, David Tudor, Stephen Vitiello, La Monte Young et Marian Zazeela.